In this post I’ll talk about the reasons that led me to take the PhD route, while simultaneously explaining the title of this blog; “Take the PhD exit”. Additionally, I will discuss what a PhD can offer you and why you should take the PhD exit.

Take the PhD

Let me first start by explaining the title of the blog. Ever since I completed my undergraduate and postgraduate degrees I had in mind continuing into research through a PhD. My degrees are in Education and Deaf Studies and Deaf Education. During 7 years of academic studies I wasn’t fully satisfied with the depth and breadth of research I undertook. I knew that through a PhD I would fully immerse into research and that was a great motivational factor for me to undertake a PhD.

I was applying to some PhD positions and was very close in choosing one a few years ago, but decided to do something else at that specific period. After that decision, the PhD idea started becoming more distant, albeit still in sight. I then completed a traineeship at the European Commission and returned to my island. Upon my return I was determined to leave again. I enjoyed my time at the European Commission and was applying to similar positions in Brussels during that stretch of time. But I was keeping an eye on PhD opportunities, as well.

Finally, I was presented with a dilemma. I was accepted at a traineeship position I thought I’d be the perfect fit and on the same day received an offer for a PhD position I interviewed. It’s no surprise that I chose the PhD route, as I am here writing this blog.

Why a PhD?

So, why a PhD, then? These are my own personal reasons and might vary from other students’ reasons:

  • First and foremost, I am very interested in research and wanted to engage to a research project. I explained part of this in the previous paragraphs.
  • PhD is a long-term commitment and wanted to commit to a project/work long-term. There are added benefits when you stay long-term in the same working environment.
  • At the time I chose to do a PhD, I didn’t have extensive knowledge on the subject-matter. While that sounds like a bad thing, I see it as a good thing. There are so many more things to learn, than if I chose a topic I was an expert in. In addition, I could view the topic from a different perspective than someone who’s been into this area, without taking a step back to refresh their views and understanding of it.
  • I wanted to develop all the other skills that come with a PhD (in addition to the knowledge of the subject matter). I will about these skills and competences in detail in another post.
  • The work from my supervisors seemed to align with some of my interests. So that motivated me to want to work with them.
  • And finally, London contributed to this decision, as well.

So if you’re in the midst of deciding whether a PhD is right for you, I can only give one advice; Take the PhD! It’s a fascinating journey with lots of pumps but also interesting things along the way!

